Common Questions About Surrogacy in Oregon

Common Questions About Surrogacy in Oregon

1. Is surrogacy legal in Oregon?

Whether surrogacy is legal or not will always be the first concern of potential parents/surrogates. The good news is that there are no laws forbidding surrogacy in Oregon. There’s no doubt that surrogacy is legal in the state. Surrogacy has become a common way for Oregon residents to grow their families.

Paid surrogacy is forbidden in some states. Oregon surrogates are advised against visiting such states during the third trimester. There are also some states where surrogacy is only legal for heterosexual couples, but not same-sex couples.

Oregon also has a pre-birth procedure that amends the birth certificate of a surrogate child to include the names of the intended parents rather than the surrogate, so intended parents are the full legal parents.

2. How much are surrogates in Oregon paid?

While a lot of careful thought goes into becoming a surrogate and it isn’t an easy decision to make, there’s no denying the benefits and end results are absolutely worth it in the end. Surrogate mothers in Oregon earn an average of $50,000 per surrogacy experience, including legal fees and health insurance. That’s on top of other perks including child care, travel, clothing, and lost wages – among others. Keep in mind that how much a surrogate actually earns depends on the state in which you live, the surrogate experience, and the agency you choose to partner with.

3. What’s the process to become a surrogate in Oregon?

Gestational surrogates carry a child conceived through IVF (in-vitro fertilization) using either an egg from the intended mother or from a donor. A gestational surrogate isn’t genetically related to the child they bear. The basic requirements to become a surrogate in Oregon require that you;

  • Are between 20 – 38 years old
  • Have a BMI below 32
  • Be a non-smoker and don’t use any form of tobacco products
  • Not be on any anxiety or anti-depressant medication
  • Have had less than three C-sections in your lifetime
  • Have one or more children of your own
  • Have had no more than 1 miscarriage
  • Have had no more than 2 abortions

You can apply to become a surrogate by filling out an application form. The form details your lifestyle, work, pregnancy, medical history. Potential surrogate mothers are also screened to ensure they are psychologically and physically fit to undertake the journey of becoming a parent for someone else. This medical screening and psychological evaluation is an important measure that ensures the safety of surrogate and baby alike.

4. How much does surrogacy in Oregon cost?

The cost of surrogacy depends on each individual case. Every surrogacy journey is unique and they each contain different factors that can affect the fees involved, which affects the price. The total cost of the surrogacy program involves agency fees, surrogacy expenses and compensation, legal fees, and fertility clinic fees. The average cost of surrogacy in Oregon can be anywhere between $130,000 and $175,000 depending upon individual circumstances and arrangements.

There are a number of factors that go into determining the true cost of surrogacy, including whether an egg is used. If an unexpected medical condition occurs, then surrogates require intended parents to cover the costs of visiting a doctor or any medical procedures.